Skip to content

Everybody Says They Read

April 16, 2010

Image via YesLex!

Originally posted at YesLex!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. yeslex permalink*
    June 10, 2010 4:30 pm

    Ok, so I thought this one was funny.
    I pictured myself hanging out alone at a bar with a hardback trying not to look like I might like to make some friends. Or a date. (I haven’t actually tried this– but it painted a picture that made me smile.)

    Of course my mother saw this image and said, “why do you paint yourself so ugly?”
    Ha! Perceptions of selves, right?

    • marybullstonecraft permalink*
      June 10, 2010 7:00 pm

      This definitely made me smile. I can’t decide if my favorite part is your expression (which seems half ‘notice me reading!’ and half ‘I can’t read with these people talking!’) or the canoodling couple, who are totally disinterested in the reading. Or, actually, it might be that the couple seem less facially determinate than you, and thus are implicitly presented as figures in a scenario of your own imagination. Which makes the whole piece a really cool and funny look at the uncertainties and nervousness of the business of putting yourself out there to meet new people!

      Also, your mom is hilarious. And, ironically, when I’ve seen her stuff, I usually think something along the lines of “why does everyone look 5-10 years younger than they really are?” 🙂

Leave a Reply

