Skip to content

When Even Signs Mansplain

April 14, 2010

Your Local Cafe Bathroom: Now with 100% More Mansplaining!

[For those who can’t see the words on the sign above, it reads: WARNING According to the surgeon general, women should not drink alcoholic beverages, including distilled spirits, beer, coolers and wine during pregnancy because of the risk of birth defects.]

The other night I was visiting my local faux-French cafe (they have really good Cesar salad, which is probably not French!) and I found this sign posted at the bottom of the mirror in the bathroom.  After reading it I realized this wasn’t the first time I’d seen it.  Once before a friend and I encountered similar wording in the bathroom of a hotel in New Orleans.  We were offended then, and I’m offended now.  Frankly, I don’t understand what business it is of a restaurant (or hotel, or whatever other business-like entity) to tell women about the risks of drinking while pregnant.  Is there a similar sign in the men’s room warning them that if they get too drunk they might risk bullying a woman into bed with them?

Also, why is this sign in the bathroom?  Chances are, if I have to pee, it’s probably because I’ve already had a couple of beverages.  Oh no!!!!!!!!!  It might be too late!   I didn’t know about the risks of drinking while pregnant until this sign in a restaurant informed me!  And I’ve already been drinking!  What will I do?????

WTF, local faux-French cafe.  W.T.F.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. marybullstonecraft permalink*
    April 15, 2010 10:46 am

    I *hate* that sign. I especially hate that it’s in the bathroom. It gives the impression of being less offensive (since it’s not exercising its judgey-ness publicly, where you might actually be drinking, but it’s totally not. Instead, it’s just there in private, acting like your bossy, know-it-all aunt who shows up while you’re trying to pee to be all “I know you can make your own choices and everything, but you should know that you’re killing your baby at this very instant!!! Also, the sad thing is that it doesn’t even really NEED to be in the dining room, since Americans are so trained to view pregnant women’s bodies as public property (such that they are free to comment on what she should or shouldn’t do while she’s baby-baking) that most pregnant women are too afraid of the harassment and condemnation they’d receive to ever have a drink in public.

    • iris permalink
      April 15, 2010 7:31 pm

      I think that in Canada – or at least Ontario – signs like that are in fact legally mandatory in… restaurants that serve alcohol? Bars in general? Both?

      Cool huh?

Leave a Reply

