Skip to content

Adventures in Hollywood Baby-Making

March 24, 2010

You know what’s hilarious?  When ladeez have careers and stuff and put off getting pregnant and finding a man, and then they’re suddenly old, so they have to pay money and resort to wacky fertility projects like artificial insemination!  But you know what would be even funnier?  If those same ladeez were, like, inseminated by people without their consent!!!  Wait, what?

So, in case you missed it, the premise of this awesome romantic comedy is that a lady who doesn’t want to have a specific dude’s child is tricked into having exactly that dude’s child, by that dude (who, no worries, is her “best friend”) who knew that she didn’t want his sperm in her.  But it’s ok, you guys, because he was drunk, and also, he has feelings for her.  My bet: she realizes how much she really loves him by the end.  Rape Culture FTW!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2010 12:06 pm

    I had the exact same reaction when I saw this trailer. I was like… wait, what? How is this okay? Jennifer Aniston is making some terrible movie choices lately. What, with “The Bounty Hunter” trailer showing her locked in a trunk while her ex drives along laughing maniacally (what? that isn’t HIGH-LARIOUS to you??) and now agreeing to be in a movie in which she’s inseminated by someone without consent.

  2. March 24, 2010 10:25 pm

    OH my GOD. I’m so glad that you wrote about this before I even saw it, so that I could find out about it via your article rather than in some situation that might’ve made me even angrier.

    I can’t add much to what you and Britni have already said (The Bounty Hunter makes me want to throw knives at my TV screen. Or shoot it with lasers), except to say that Bateman’s character in this is THE ULTIMATE EXAMPLE of the Nice Guy (TM). “It’s okay that I infringe on this woman’s bodily autonomy. Because I am a NICE GUY…”

  3. MsFeasance permalink
    March 28, 2010 12:03 am

    What’s worse is that the original working title of this flick was The Baster, as in “Turkey Baster.”

    Ewwwww.

    • marybullstonecraft permalink*
      March 28, 2010 9:53 pm

      I know, right? In my other life, I do research on representations of pregnancy in film, and had been following this one pre-production because in the beginning, the Baster title only (grossly) told me it was about IVF. I was confused about why the name was changed until I actually saw the trailer. Now I’ve just moved from confusion to vomitoriousness.

Leave a Reply

