Skip to content

O, Canada…

July 1, 2010

[Image: A fallen red maple leaf sits alone on a concrete background, reminiscent of the Canadian flag.]

Today is Canada Day.  I will celebrate the birthday of my adopted home in true Canadian fashion, with a hike in the woods and a trip to my city’s  festival in the park.  This particular Canada Day is a bittersweet one for many Canadians, I think–as the police misconduct and brutality of the G20 protests is still quite fresh, and Torontoans pick up the pieces of their aftermath.

Still, there is reason to celebrate the good in our home as we speak out against the bad.  But because I am still new to Canada–and because, as living here has taught me, I am thoroughly USAmerican in my assumptions and knowledge–I’ll direct you to others who have done a much better job at this than I could: Pilgrim Soul from The Pursuit of Harpyness and Renee at Womanist Musings (though, as awesome as she is, I can’t get on board with the Tim Horton’s love–sorry, Renee!  What’s the deal with the automatic cream-and-sugar anyway??).

Much love, Canada!  Thanks for the health care.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2010 10:13 am

    Umm Timmy’s is Cannuck crack as far as I am concerned. You don’t get automatic cream and sugar you have to ask for double double, which BTW is the coolest short form for cream and sugar evah.

    Thanks for the link love

    • marybullstonecraft permalink*
      July 1, 2010 11:19 am

      Well, it appears that you’ve exposed my lack of true Tim’s knowledge! I should have specified that it’s the iced coffee that automatically comes with cream and sugar (and I don’t think I’m exaggerating when I say that it looks and tastes like coffee ice cream!–which, ok, if I want ice cream, is awesome, but when it’s coffee time? blech!). I do love a good Tim’s doughnut, though.

  2. July 1, 2010 2:47 pm

    I don’t drink iced coffee (well I have ice caps) but I always have those with chocolate milk because they are less fat that way and still say tooooooo good. I think I will have to look at the etiquette page for ordering at Timmy’s to check our complaint. Yeah, there really is one.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

